For many centuries, lead was the favoured material for water pipes, because its malleability made it practical to work into the desired shape. (Such use was so common that the word "plumbing" derives from plumbum, the Latin word for lead.) This was a source of lead-related health problems in the years before the health hazards of ingesting lead were fully understood; among these were stillbirths and high rates of infant mortality. Lead water pipes were still widely used in the early 20th century, and remain in many households. In addition, lead-tin alloy solder was commonly used to join copper pipes, but modern practice uses tin-antimony alloy solder instead, in order to eliminate lead hazards.[13]
My anxiety level always rises when I get a call after 11pm. Worst case scenario: a family emergency or a sewer backup. When it’s raining hard, guess which one it is? After a couple of nasty nighttime backups, it was time to face reality and get the seweroscopy. The rooter guys put the camera down and discovered a sewer belly, or dip in the sewer line where crap collects; time to replace at least 20′ of our ancient clay main sewer line. We selected 3 firms from Consumers Checkbook to estimate the…
The salary is comparable to that in some trade jobs, like plumbers ($57,070), electricians ($57,910) and food service managers ($57,250). — Eugene Scott, Washington Post, "The teacher boycotts are a reminder of what Americans often get wrong about ‘class’," 5 Apr. 2018 His great-grandfather was a Sacramento saddlemaker, his grandfather a plumber. — Mike Dunne, sacbee, "Light-handed approach paying off for Sacramento winemaker Craig Haarmeyer | The Sacramento Bee," 28 Mar. 2018 Nichols acknowledges that experts span a broad range of professions, from academics to plumbers and auto mechanics. — John Timmer, Ars Technica, "First thing we do, let’s kill all the experts," 21 Oct. 2018 Prior to his retirement, Joe was employed for over 20 years as a plumber by the town of East Hartford-Board of Education. — courant.com, "Joseph M. McCarthy," 29 Mar. 2018 Repair and installation basics Experienced DIY plumbers should begin by giving themselves a thorough understanding of the appliance. — Roy Berendson, Popular Mechanics, "How To Fix a Water Heater, Or Install a New One," 14 Nov. 2018 The Best Choice for Ordinary Folks Not everybody who uses pliers has the hand and forearm strength of a plumber or an electrician. — Roy Berendsohn, Popular Mechanics, "You Know What Makes a Great Stocking Stuffer? Pliers.," 29 Nov. 2018 In addition to long hours for retail workers, Black Friday is the busiest day of the year for plumbers. — Amina Lake Abdelrahman, Good Housekeeping, "9 Fascinating Facts About Black Friday History," 21 Aug. 2018 In 2015, Homesense Heating and Cooling acquired the building and spent more than $1 million to redevelop it into Refinery 46, a co-working space for home service providers such as electricians and plumbers. — Liz Biro, Indianapolis Star, "Double 8 grocery stores: Here's what they are now," 1 May 2018

Mr. Rooter HydroScrub™ service is the most effective method known to restore old drain lines to a like-new condition. Contact us today to schedule an appointment with us for drain cleaning in Atlanta. A line choked with years of accumulation of grease, soap and sludge can be restored to near original condition with the skill of your Mr. Rooter technician.


Even attempting to fix your plumbing repairs on your own without proper knowledge can cause massive problems down the line. Book your local plumber using the Handy platform and you’ll be matched with plumbers near you who know just what they’re doing. Experienced and practiced in their craft, they’ll provide you with the best job at a price that won’t break the bank. When you use Handy to find cheap plumbers near me, you can rest assured that you’ll be connected with a capable plumbing service who will get your job done without you having to worry about how much a plumber costs ever again.
When you need a plumbing repair, rely on our certified, skilled plumbers. When it comes to the plumbing system in your home, you need someone you can trust to keep it in top working order; someone who can get there quickly and who will do the job right the first time. BGE HOME is your resource for plumbing service and can promptly take care of any repair, from stopping a leak, drain cleaning, fixing a garbage disposal, and everything in between. Whether your kitchen sink is clogged, a faucet is dripping or your water heater springs a leak, our priority is getting your plumbing problem repaired quickly and efficiently. Your satisfaction is our top priority, so our plumber will keep you informed and ensure we are meeting your expectations.
Houston water has been treated and deemed safe to drink. But do you know what is really in your tap water? Our Houston plumbers will help you find out and take action to protect your family. We will test your water do determine the hardness of the water and discover which contaminants are present. Then, we will develop a water treatment solution to address the issues with your water and transform your tap water into a healthier, fresh-tasting, and odor-free drinking water. No bottles required! Serving Houston since 1965, John Moore knows plumbing – which means that your water filtration and softener system will be properly installed and tied in to your water supply line without any threat of contamination. We also offer de-scaling solutions and water softener systems to help you reduce the toll that hard water can on your fixtures and appliances. Talk to the John Moore water quality specialists about your concerns. We’re happy to help you find the best water filtration or softener solution for your home – and your health.

For plumbing in Ventura County, Ca you should be able to call the best at any time day or night to handle all your plumbing services. The best, of course, is Roto-Rooter Plumber Ventura, Ca. Reliable plumbing means a reliable plumber. Don’t just choose the first name that you find, choose the best services by calling Roto-Rooter in Ventura County. (805) 620-3700


Not all plumbing companies can guarantee up-front pricing, superior workmanship and parts, licensed and insured plumbing contractors, and courteous support from uniformed professionals. Whether you are in need of drain cleaning or would like to schedule a plumbing inspection for your home, Mr. Rooter's plumbing services can handle it all! Our skilled plumbers are knowledgeable and equipped with the latest tools needed to achieve optimal results. Give us a call at (855) 982-2028, or request a job estimate online.
As Thanksgiving and the ensuing party of guests approach, there is no better time than now to get moving on improving the functionality of your house. After all, who doesn’t like compliments on their place from friends and family? Now let’s address some of the areas of your home that you can improve just in time for the company. Do You Have a Leaky Faucet? There is no doubt people will be around your sinks on Turkey Day. Whether it is washing hands in the bathroom, working in the kitchen or desperately trying to douse that Pinot Noir out of your favorite holiday sweater, your sink will most likely be receiving some high traffic. There is no better way to find the perfect part to repair that leak than by using our very own Danco x Lowe’s Leaky Faucet Guide! Optimize Your Toilet for Efficiency Whenever there is a high volume of food, some other nuisances come with it. But how do you prepare? Well, thanks to our innovative product brand, Next by Danco, we have the ultimate solution for you. One of these is the Water-Saving Toilet Total Repair Kit! This tool converts your toilet to one of extremely high-efficiency. With drop-in installation, it is a very simple fix to convert your toilet into a two-flush system. With both quick and full flush, you can save a high volume of water when your flush doesn’t really need it! So check it out. Keep Your Garbage Disposal Free of Things…
Hi Kenneth, We would be happy to get you connected with a pro for your project. You can submit a service request on our website: http://www.homeadvisor.com/, or browse reviews for local water heater pros here: http://www.homeadvisor.com/c.html. We can also have a project advisor reach out to assist you if you send your contact information to [email protected] –HASupport
Estes Services also offers plumbing installation in Atlanta, Georgia, and the surrounding areas.  We carry two of the leading brands in the plumbing industry that are known for being top-of-the-line for quality and efficiency.  Water heater installation is a common service we perform. We carry Bradford White and Bosch water heaters, with a range of models to fit your budget and the capacity needs for your home.  Call and talk to one of our professionals today to learn how we can care for your plumbing needs!
Mounted under the sink, the garbage disposal is meant for chopping up small bits of waste food.  When switched on the motor spins and impellers — also called lugs — throw bits of food against a grinder ring. You should always run water while using the garbage disposal; once the garbage disposal does its job, the water flushes the finely chopped particles down the drain.
Hi Kenneth, We would be happy to get you connected with a pro for your project. You can submit a service request on our website: http://www.homeadvisor.com/, or browse reviews for local water heater pros here: http://www.homeadvisor.com/c.html. We can also have a project advisor reach out to assist you if you send your contact information to [email protected] –HASupport
If you own a home and your plumbing toolkit consists of a lone plunger, chances are sooner than later you’ll need to tap into the knowledge or advice from someone versed in common plumbing repairs. Ace can help you in a pinch. While a plunger can be handy in several different scenarios, Ace Hardware has the plumbing tools, plumbing supplies and knowledgeable plumbing advice on hand to face a plumbing problem head on.
During a sewer video inspection, the homeowner can watch over the technician's shoulder as the camera snakes its way through your sewer. After the camera finds the obstruction, it is stopped. The video technician then goes outside with a sewer sonde device which locates the video camera underground. This area is marked with spray paint. If the sewer line later needs to be dug up and replaced, workers will know exactly where to dig. Roto-Rooter provides the video to the homeowner, either on DVD format or online.
I hired Eduardo to replace some faucets, air switches and a shower head. He did a GREAT job and was reasonably priced compared to other plumbers in the area. Eduardo was also easy to work with and very responsive to all my questions. I would HIGHLY recommend him for anyone looking for an honest plumber in the area who will do the job right. Thanks again Eduardo!
Whether you're unclogging drains with your handy drain snake, installing a sprinkler system or solving drainage problems, Lowe's has everything you need to make your plumbing project a success. From toilets, toilet repair, water heaters and filtration systems to faucets, metal pipes and fittings or plastic pipes and fittings, we're here to help. We’ll help make sure that pipe dreams aren’t as impossible as they seem with the right PVC pipe, PVC pipe fittings, PEX pipe and fittings and pipe connectors. We’ve got everything you need to get your water where you need it with our selection of septic tanks, water pumps, submersible pumps and irrigation pumps. And we also carry sump pump check valves to make sure that discharge water doesn’t flow back into your sump system. Check out our how-to articles and videos for step-by-step guides on do-it-yourself tasks. Get started on transforming your home into a safe, energy-efficient spot for the whole family.
Severe plumbing emergencies can cause a lot of collateral damage and result in high costs if not addressed immediately. For example, if your basement floods at 2:00 A.M., it’s vital that an emergency plumber visits right away to resolve the problem and prevent further water damage. Our technicians can arrive at your residence as soon as possible, bringing state-of-the-art equipment to address the plumbing emergency, complete the job in a timely and efficient manner, and get your household plumbing systems back to normal quickly. Providing 24/7 plumbing is just one of the many services Roto Rooter fulfills.
×